Staffs Congress result

The Staffordshire Chess Congress was held over the weekend 12/13th April at Bloxwich Leisure Centre, Walsall.
The Premier resulted in a tie on 4/5 between three players: IM Geoffrey Lawton of Birmingham, making a return to chess after an absence of over a decade, and two Staffordshire Players Malcolm Armstrong of Stafford and Tomasz Sygnowski of Wolverhampton who also tied for the Staffordshire Closed Championship.
The details of all the prize winners are below.

Posted on behalf of David Anderton

1st -3rd IM Geoffrey Lawton (Checkmate) £150, Malcolm Armstrong (Stafford) (Advertiser Trophy) £165 and Tomasz Sygnowski (Wolverhampton) (Advertiser Trophy) £165.
Grading U200: Mark Whitehead (Rochdale), Andrew Paterson (Solihull) and Trevor Brotherton (Church Stretton) share £50.
Senior: Mike Surtees (Bolton) Richard Bryant (Oswestry) and Jan Havenaar (Netherlands) share £30.
Junior: Owen Bennett (Caerleon) £25.

1st Jonathan Hunt (Wolverhampton) £120.
2nd Shabir Okhai (Syston) £80.
3rd Michael Connor(Great Lever) Martyn Harris (Newcastle-under-Lyme) and Steve Rooney (Church Stretton) share £50.
Senior and Grading U140: Robert Clegg (Huddersfield) £60.
Junior: Jacob Boswell (Cheddleton & Leek) £25.

1st – 3rd Bill Egan (Scunthorpe) Francis Rooney (Church Stretton) and Marco Ho (Lichfield) share £250.
Grading U 100: Marten Kats (Derby) £30.
Senior: Christopher Fraser (West Bridgford) Colin Gardiner (Newmarket) and Gordon Somerville share £30.
Junior: Adam Bennett (West Nottingham) and Andrew Fenn (Bloxwich) share £20.

Tagged with: