Marshall retains Rock Cup

The finals were held last night by mutual agreement at Mercia’s club premises. Dave Hodkinson and Michael Hoare each won the toss and chose the white pieces.

The results were:-

Rock Cup: Dave Hodkinson (MER) (w) 0-1 Robert Marshall (WOL) – so Robert retains his title.

Bidgood Trophy: Michael Hoare (LIC) (w) ½-½ Stuart Deeley (MER) – so a replay with colours reversed will be required a.s.a.p.

Both games showed excellent attacking chess. Dave built up considerable pressure against Rob which quite belied the significant grading deficit he was playing under.

Screen Shot 2016-03-31 at 20.15.44

L to R in the picture below are Stuart Deeley, Michael Hoare, FW, Dave Hodkinson and Robert Marshall.

Thanks to Mercia club in general and Kevan Ward in particular for use of the premises and setting up the room etc.

Posted on behalf of
Frank Wood
Tournament Secretary